The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

Some people believe that studying history enables us to become more familiar to our ancestors since we get to learn their culture and events they went through. However, studying history rather can have the opposite impact of showing a stark contrast between the people living now and people who lived in the earlier times.

Admittedly, we can find some characteristics of contemporary society from our history. For instance, we can find huge stone graves at historical sites during the bronze era. They are the tombs of powerful leaders. Seeing that thousands ago, they had a ruler or leader as well, we can relate their social system to ours. However, nowadays, the social system has changed a lot. The ruler long time ago could brandish his power without check. In contrast, today, presidents are limited in their powers and impeached when they are not supported by the people of the nation. Therefore, it might be hard for us to closely link our society with theirs.

Moreover, when we learn the lifestyles of people who lived earlier period, we can see much difference. People in the ancient days hunted for foods, lived in a tribal society, and wore leather clothes. However, we attain foods from markets, live individually or with our family, and wear clothes made from petroleum and produced in factories. It should be hard to imagine the lives of those people from the perspectives of contemporary people. Thus, the changed lifestyle made me think people who lived in the earlier times were so different from today.

Furthermore, people's perspectives had changed significantly. For example, contemporary people value money and carry them anytime as a bill or credit card. Currency is one of the most important sources to live in the contemporary world. However, the currency did not exist in the ancient times that money would seem like no more than a colored paper to people who lived in those periods. Besides, people in the ancient days believed weather as a signal from God. Therefore, when the weather was worse, they thought it is a punishment from God and religious leaders prayed for forgiving. However, for today's people who predict the weather, it will be just a superstition. Thus, learning history might awaken us how the perspectives of people are significantly changed.

To sum up, the political system, lifestyle, and perspectives had significantly changed throughout the history. From those aspects, we would find contemporary people live in a totally different world compared to those who lived in earlier times. Thus, the study of history would not have a powerful effect to dispel the illusion about the historical times but they will rather emphasize the differences between the contemporary people and the ancestors.