The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Bargain Brand Cereals."One year ago we introduced our first product, 'Bargain Brand' breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal compani

The marketing director of the cereal brand asserts that the company should expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible. However, this argument is unpersuasive as it is based on several questionable assumptions.

First, the arguer assumes that their cereal can be successful for a long time in the future. However, it is uncertain whether the past statistics for the success was long enough. It is possible that the cereal has been only one or two years since it came out in the market. It could have been that consumers wanted to try the new product in the market that its popularity is because it is new, not genuinely because it is tasty. If so, the high sales of the cereal could be a temporary symptom. Therefore, if the success of the cereal is only based on short-term data, it is unreasonable to assert that it will keep bringing the profits to the company in the future. Thus, the author should provide the years of its success since it was started to be sold in the cereal market to substantiate the argument.

Second, the arguer presumes that the other top-selling companies' strategy to lower its price did not affect the profits of the company. However, the profits could have decreased due to their strategies. The author only mentioned that the company still gain the profits from the cereal product. It is likely that the sales of the Bargain Brand Cereals had dropped and the profits had reduced significantly, just above the level that they need to increase the price. In that case, it is erroneous to assume that the cereal of Bargain Brand is secure in the long run. Thus, the arguer should provide the information related to the changes in the profits from the cereal after the price reduction of its rivals to support its argument.

Third, even if the Bargain Brand Cereal was successful in the market, it is unlikely that other products of the company will be successful as well. It is possible that the company could make a success at the cereal owing to its competitive recipe or manufacturing process. However, it is not guaranteed whether the Bargain Brand has the competitive recipe or technique for making other food products as well. If other products have much lower quality than their rivals in the market that even if the products are cheaper, it would not be as popular as cereals. Thus, the arguer should consider whether the company's other food products will be as competitive as their cereal product to substantiate its argument.

To sum up, the argument that the company should expand its cereal business and begin marketing its other low-priced food products is unpersuasive. The author should provide information related to the years of success for the cereal product, changes in the profits, and the competitiveness of other products in the market.