The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president."In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their

The recommendation by the vice president suggests that the employees of Climpson Industries need to be monitored on their internet use. The recommendation needs to be improved by the author since there are some assumptions need to be solved.

First, the author mentioned that those who use the internet should be identified from the workstations and punished. However, it was never mentioned how they would distinguish the internet use for personal use from the work-related use. These days, most of the works in the office is done through internet use. If the internet use for work purpose is also identified and punished, it puts a huge discredit on the monitoring system. The monitoring system which cannot detect the cases only for the punishment, it becomes in effect useless. Thus, the author should provide the monitoring methods which can detect the internet use limited to the personal or recreational purpose.

Second, the author supposes that the reduction of the work hours will reduce the idle time among employees. Nevertheless, the author did not consider other ways that employees use not to work. For instance, the mobile use is exemplary. On mobile phones, they can do mobile games or text message with friends. Without precluding these possibilities, the author's assertion that the work hours spent for work is misleading. Thus, the author should provide enough causation between the reduction of internet use and the increase in time that employees are doing their work.

Lastly, the author presumes that the monitoring would increase the work ethics and increase the profitability of the company as a result. In contrast, the monitoring on employee's individual computer can have a counter effect on work ethics since it is an infringement of privacy. Employees might feel uncomfortable about being monitored on their work. This can make them less loyal to the company. Besides, those who are extremely sensitive about one's privacy can be annoyed and quit the jobs at the company. Therefore, the monitoring of the computer uses seems not desirable to increase the work ethics nor to improve the productivity. Thus, the author should consider how the employees would react to the new policy.

To sum up, the author's recommendation has several assumptions that need to be checked. Without solving those assumptions, the recommendation would remain ill-advised.