Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Such evidence suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's. This change is sure to result in a dramatic decline in cheating among college students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author asserts that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton’s because this change will bring significant drop in cheating among students. However, this argument is implausible as it is based on several questionable assumptions.

First, the author assumes that the reduced reporting of cheating over the five years means the actual reduction of cheating. However, this is not necessarily true. The actual number of cheating by students might have not changed. For instance, it is likely that students are reluctant to report cheating of their close friends or threatened by the cheating student not to report it. If so, even though the reported cases have reduced, the actual cheating might not well represented in those numbers. Therefore, the honor codes might not have an effect in reducing the cheating.

Second, the author cites the recent survey that the majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code. However, this survey is too vague to ensure that the honor code is actually effective to students. Who was the respondent of the survey and how many students participated? Which percentage does the majority accounts for? Without the specific number and scopes of respondents, it would be erroneous to say that the survey is definitive. Therefore, if the survey result might not be true, it might not prove the positive effect of the honor codes on student’s attitudes.

Finally, the author presumes that the adoption of honor codes in other colleges will bring the same result as it did in Groveton. However, even if the honor code was effective in the Groveton, it is not ensured that it will succeed in other regions as well. If a college was suffering from the high rate of cheating among students, it is possible that students in other colleges are using this as a chance to do cheating without teacher’s monitoring. Therefore, the cases of cheating might increase much when the honor codes are adopted in this college. Therefore, unless it is proven that the honor codes have the same effect as Groveton, it is unlikely to have the positive results.