As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoni

Nowadays, technologies have become the essential part of human society. Some people argue that the splendid development of the technology degenerated the human ability to think. This holds some truth, but I do not totally agree with this view. Rather, I believe human's thinking ability has developed along the development of technologies. The following essay will argue why that is.

Admittedly, thanks to the useful technologies, we do not need to spend more time to use our brains. For instance, by using calculators or navigators, it became unnecessary to calculate long numbers or read the map by ourselves. Even, the supercomputers analyze data and present the future scenarios which would have taken much more time for people to do. Those who believe the technologies degenerated human's thinking ability assume that we exchanged the chances to use our brains with the ease and comfortability coming from the use of technologies. And they think the use of technologies is so prevalent and widespread in our lives. However, still, those who plan the use of technologies are the human. Before operating the supercomputer to analyze the data for the weather forecast, it requires our decisions about what information to use and how they will be analyzed. That is, the planning for the supercomputer's operation is only the job of people.

In addition, there are areas that technology did not replace the human: decision-making process. Human's thinking abilities are not confined to mathematical calculations or finding geographical ways to get to somewhere. Rather, we have the ability to expect the unprecedented situations. The uncertainty and unpredictability of the current society require human who can imagine the unprecedented situations, unlike computers who can only think about what has occurred beforehand. Let's take the example of the North Korea's nuclear development issue. It is so complicated one which requires countries to think up of diplomatic strategies, possible military options, etc. As the situation is up to change, depending on the fickleness of North Korea, international societies need to prepare as many as scenarios as they can and prepare for them. Can the technology imagine the scenarios that never existed before? No, they cannot since the intellectual ability to imagine and think unpredictable situations is only endowed to humans.

Furthermore, those who agree with the issue supposes that the general people use the technology without knowing how it works. Thus, the general average of human thinking skills decrease. However, by the inventions of the technologies, human also had to learn how to use the new technologies. For example, can we say those who use the internet have less thinking ability than those who cannot? Maybe not. To use the internet, one had to learn how to find appropriate sources on the internet as we do at the library. Instead of looking up the directory and finding books one by one, people need to select appropriate keywords and search engines. That is, without understanding how the internet works, one cannot utilize the technology. Therefore, even with the presence of technology, we still need to understand how the technologies work and function.

To sum up, we rely on technology for the convenience of ourselves, but it is hard to say that they reduced our ability to think ourselves. As the society is getting more complicated, there remain areas where requires the human's ability to plan and imagine. Furthermore, using the technology also require us to know how to use them, so the human's ability to understand might be improved by learning the new technologies. Therefore, the reliance on technology does not deteriorate the ability of humans to think for ourselves.