An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where the

The author asserts that the traditional remedy of lavender scent has proven effective for the treatment of insomnia based on the experiment with lavender-scented pillows for three weeks. However, the author's argument about the effectiveness of lavender on insomnia is unpersuasive since it is based on several questionable assumptions.

First, the author assumes that the 30 volunteers can represent the general people with the disease of insomnia. However, this might not necessarily true. If the volunteers have single-ethnicity, similar body types, it would be hard to apply the result to the general people with different body types and ethnicities. It is likely that the lavender might not show the same positive effect on all kinds of people. Therefore, the author should provide information related to the body type of the volunteers in the experiment to strengthen the argument.

Secondly, the author presumes that the experiment result based on the feeling of volunteers is reliable. However, this experimental data is too vague to determine the effectiveness of lavender on them. It is likely that the subjects of the experiment cannot remember how much they were tired compared to one or two weeks ago. Besides, it is uncertain how the experimenter could decide the soundness of the participants with the electronic monitoring. Therefore, the author should substantiate its argument by providing an objective and concrete method to determine the sleeping patterns of the participants.

Lastly, the author supposes that the only reason for the better quality of sleeping in the third week was the lavender scent. However, there can be alternative reasons for the difference. It is likely that the experimenters got used to the experiment condition and environment that they could get asleep more deeply. In addition, it is possible that the effectiveness of medication could occur in two weeks term. Likewise, there might be other conditions which can explain the improvement in the result. Therefore, the author should provide information concerning the other conditions which might have affected on the sleeping patterns of the participants.

To sum up, the author's argument about the efficacy of lavender scent on the cure of insomnia needs further proof related to the body types of volunteers, objective methods of experiments, and the alternative reasons for the result to support the argument.