People’s attitudes are determined by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Society or an individual environment, which one influence more to a person’s attitude? For example, when a person who is a heavy drinker, is it because he is living in a society where drinking is common in its culture or because his close friends often drink? The prompt says people’s attitudes are more decided by the immediate surroundings rather than the bigger society as a whole. This sounds plausible, however, it is not necessarily true.

Admittedly, immediate surrounding can become very influential in shaping one’s daily lives. When one experience things in a direct experience, it is much more powerful to arouse some feelings and thoughts within the person. For instance, when the parents or your close friends are interested in Indie music, there is a high possibility that you might try some songs and have a positive opinion about Indie music, even though that is not the mainstream of musical category in the society. Besides, if one person is raised in the black family, he or she will be more interested in the issue of black history in the United States. Therefore, the decision of individual preference or interest can be determined mainly by immediate surroundings.

However, in making harder and important decisions, people’s attitudes are more influenced by the society as a whole, specifically by social norms. For example, compared to the college enrollment rate of OECD countries, Korea shows distinctively higher figures in enrollment and graduation of colleges. However, those who go for the doctoral studies is much lower than the average among OECD countries. This is because people in South Korea chose to go to college since, without the college degree, people cannot get a decent job. Therefore, students study hard to go to a good school. Even students who cannot afford to pay for tuition fee, they will think student loan positively to get the degree, which was required in the society. That is, the attitude about college degree was determined by the society which regards it as necessary.

Furthermore, due to the growing influence of media in the society, people began to take more consideration of society’s norms. This is because the media has spread and become common in every household. For instance, we are kept watching and hearing the news on the TV and newspapers that fast foods are detrimental to people’s health and the frequent consumption of them can occur even disease due to malnutrition and high calories. People try to avoid eating fast foods because they are bad for their health. Therefore, people are more influenced by the society due to the growing influence of media.

In sum, people’s attitudes are more determined by individual surroundings and society than immediate surroundings. This is because when people make important decisions, social norms function as crucial standards and as the generalization of media, people can easily approach the news in the society.