People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

The nature of one’s attitude is an elusive concept. In fact the mechanisms and factors which come to bear on one’s outlook and preferences are a centerpiece of research in sociology and social psychology. One of the principle debates on the matter concerns the question of the importance of society at large as compared with one’s immediate surrounding on forming one’s attitudes. While both may plausibly greatly redound one’s personality, there is convincing evidence to imply that the influence played by one’s immediate surroundings may supersede that of society as a whole.

Primarily one should not discount the influence of society at large. Changes in government policy, the likes of a rise in interest rates or a declaration of war have a profound effect on everyone’s lives and cannot be ignored. This is evinced by a famous phenomenon in political science – during times of war, feeling of patriotism increase, and concurrently so do the approval rating of the head of state. Clearly if one were to reject the importance of society these findings would be hard to reconcile. Nevertheless, this does not imply that the influence of society is greater than that of an individual’s immediate surroundings.

Behavioural psychologists have long posited that one of the mechanisms by which one is taught how to behave, and by which one is socialized into society is through conditioning. A person learns what is good and what is bad by getting rewarded for good actions and punished for bad ones. Much of the effect of society on our personalities is through these punishments. One learns not to steal from the threat of incarceration. Yet it is precisely this mechanism which evinces why our immediate surrounds are more important to our development, as punishments delegated by our close ones are much more impactful than those handed down by courts. This is because we have a much stronger emotional attachment to our friends and families than we do to the abstract notion of the “state” or “society”. Clearly a scolding by a parent is much more impactful to a child than is a warning by a policy officer to an adult. Additionally we are conditioned by our parents at a much earlier age than we are by the institutions of society, as often children do not even enter the formal education system until the age of 6.

Additionally it is a well-documented phenomenon that one’s upbringing often affects their general outlook on life. Children who grew up maintaining a good relationship with their parents are much more likely to become sanguine adults. This relationship also extends past the familial sphere and into their general socio-economic surroundings. Children growing up in poor neighbourhoods and who identify themselves as poor tend to have different beliefs than those growing up in affluent neighbourhoods. This discrepancy serves to explain the strong correlation between people’s socio economic levels and political preference. It is no wonder then the poorer boroughs of London tend to overwhelmingly support the Labour party while more well off districts, such as Kensington, tend to lean more to the conservatives.

It is hard to definitely state what has a greater impact on our attitudes. Yet the strong correlation between upbringing and outlook, as well as between socio-economic situations and political preferences seem to indicate that often times the effects of society as meagre compared to those of our surroundings. While not completely discounting the effect of society as a whole, we must internalize that in order to better understand the individual; we must first look to their immediate surroundings.