Universities should require students to take courses outside their disciplines.

Students coming into university often have little knowledge as to what they want to do in the future, less so as to what they actually want to study. This, coupled with the rapidly evolving job market, means that subjecting students to a holistic education at all levels is a necessity. As such, it is imperative that universities require students to take courses outside of their native faculties.

In the United States many students begin university as young as 18 years old. This stands in stark contrasts to many European states in which students typically enter university at an older age. The benefit of beginning university older is that students have more time to determine what they want to do in their future and to pick the appropriate field of study to get there. Yet deprived of this additional time, American university students typically start university with a lot of confusion. They often change majors and find themselves dissatisfied with their degrees. This could be mitigated by forcing students to explore new realms of study which might open them to new possibilities and help them understand where their interests lie.

Additionally, students twenty years ago could not possibly have imagined the jobs that exist today. Who could have known what a “social media expert” is? The same is true of the time we live in today. Faced with an inherent uncertainty about the future job market, our best bet is to hedge and provide our youth with holistic education that aims to give them knowledge on as many fields as possible. This ensures that no student will find his degree worthless twenty years down the road. One of the main ways this can be achieved is by requiring students to take elective courses to improve their knowledge of other disciplines.

Nevertheless, some may reasonably argue that mandating that students take courses outside their disciplines prevents specialization. A doctor for example, or an engineer, surely must have an extreme degree of competence in their fields. While this is unambiguously true, there is also a clear benefits in these lines of work as well to having some knowledge in other areas. A doctor for example, must have excellent bedside manners, as such allowing medical students to take courses in fields such as psychology or social work may prove beneficial to them overall.

Furthermore, many top earning jobs today are occupied by students of disciplines completely unrelated to that line of work. Many maverick financiers and economists have actually studied engineering! As such allowing young engineers to have a taste of finance may facilitate their vocational later in life.

There are countless benefits to making students take courses outside their disciplines. It allows them to understand where their academic and vocational interests lies, better prepares them for the future job market and gives them the necessary tools to succeed in more than one line of work down the line. As such there is no reason why we should not make such extra-faculty courses a compulsory component of university curricula.