Political scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in a way no speaker ever could.

It is often said that a picture is worth a thousand words. The same is true of political scandals. The incessant media coverage, the often graphical images and description serve to arouse the public and draw attention to crucial issues which could otherwise have gone unnoticed.

Consider the most famous political scandal of the 20th century – Watergate. Many politicians have accused Nixon of a degree of iniquity before the scandal had broken. Some have excoriated him for the tactics he allowed the army to use in Vietnam while others have impugned him for his hawkish foreign policy stands. However these invectives have done little to convince the American public of Nixon’s moral characters. Watergate, on the other hand, despite perhaps not being fully understood by many, nonetheless had a resounding effect. The media coverage it received, along with the bipartisan condemnation it received, rallied the American people against Nixon and pressured him to step down shortly after.

The fact that scandals often highlight the ethical character of leaders has again proved itself with the Monica Lewinski scandal which embroiled the Clinton presidency. Despite significant foreign policy achievements, such as the signing of the Oslo Accords and bringing an end to the war in Yugoslavia, ultimately the Clinton years were remembered for the scandal involving Mr. Clinton and his intern Monica Lewinski. This surely is for good reason, the fact that Mr. Clinton would engage in sexual relations with a White House employee, while having no direct effect on his presidency or the American people, nonetheless revealed a degree of moral depravity few would like to see in a president.

Nevertheless, a reasonable person may argue that often times scandals quickly become fertile ground for conspiracy theories and quickly become detached from their orignins. This has clearly been evinced by the scandals plaguing the presidential campaign of Hilary Clinton. First Ms. Clinton has been accused of negligence when serving as Foreign Secretary during the takeover of the American consulted in Benghazi. Then a breach of her email server revealed a number of communications which took place over a private server. While certainly a security threat, this was but by no means an illicit act. Together these served to paint Ms. Clinton as inherently corrupt and quickly sprouted a panoply of other conspiracy theories. These included absurd allegations that she was in some way connected to a child-smuggling operation in Washington DC. The conspiracy theory was even named in such a way as to allude to previous political scandals – Pizza gate. The vast amount of such theories meant that discerning the truth became increasingly difficult and assessing the true nature of Ms. Clinton nearly impossible. Ultimately many associate her ultimate political downfall to these allegations.

While this argument has merit, it fails to account for the fact that the wide array of conspiracy theories surrounding Ms. Clinton may not have been a cause of the previous scandals embroiling her but simply manifestations of her public perception. The Benghazi and email scandals have already convinced the American people of her moral depravity that it became easy to believe and satirize by the further conspiracy theories. Yet the causality, whether the conspiracy theories affected her perception or vice versa, is hard to ascertain.

Scandals have proved an important tool in bring public attention to pressing political issues. Yet more importantly these have acted as a powerful tool in exposing the true nature of many political leaders. As such, despite soiling the reputation of many, they have nonetheless been beneficial to the political system and have served to move the hearts of citizens better than any orator.