Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

In recent years the topic of deforestation and the dwindling natural reserves in many developed countries has garnered much media attention. Many argue that states should do more to prevent the destruction of the few remaining pockets of wildlife even if these could be developed for economic gain. Nevertheless, while preserving the environment in important, so is the welfare of a nation’s citizens. As such the government should not blindly protect any areas of wilderness from development, but rather strive to find a middle ground that will maximize the wellbeing of its residents.

Undoubtedly there are benefits in preserving forests. Their ecosystems are the natural habitat of a panoply of species on which we depend for our subsistence. Their trees convert harmful carbon dioxide into the salubrious oxygen which we breathe. Nevertheless it is hard to estimate how this compares with the benefit derived from the wages of thousands of potential employees tasked with clearing a forest. Perhaps those employed would otherwise succumb to hunger or the many other threats of penury. As such it is important to weigh all logical considerations when considering protecting areas of wildlife and pursue a balanced policy.

Additionally, the economic development of various natural areas could in fact serve to help preserve other reserves. The tax that can be collected from private companies to taking advantage of a state’s natural resources, can be used to help protect other wildlife areas left in their natural state. Overall this could prove to be beneficial to a nations biodiversity.

Nevertheless, many would argue that the damage done by economic development is irreversible. Once species become extinct they cannot be brought back and, in practice, once destroyed forests do not come back. While there is merit to this argument it fails to account for many recent developments in agricultural technology. With the help of scientific development, many species once considered extinct have successfully been brought back and thanks for horticulture, many forests resurrected. Thus, while in 1990 forests covered less than 25% of France’s territory, this figure has grown to well over 30% in 2019. Science has proved that few things in life are truly irreversible.

It is dangerous to completely discount the benefits of wildlife preservation, yet these should not blind us to the equally important contributions made by economic development. Rejecting one completely for the other may in either case lead to our ultimate downfall. As with many things in life moderation is key, a responsible government must therefore weigh the benefits of each and conduct its policy in a balanced manner that will maximize social welfare.