People’s attitudes are determined more by the immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

The nature of people’s attitudes is elusive. Social psychologists have long pondered what factors redound one’s personality more, their immediate surroundings or the attitudes of society as a whole. While the mechanism by which one acquires attitudes is best left to sociologists and psychologists to determine, observations regarding the large diversity of cultures and political beliefs across most societies imply that one’s immediate surroundings supersede society at large as a socializing factor.

The United States features awe-inspiring cultural diversity. Even disregarding rather closed communities such as the Amish and Mennonites, it is hard to argue that a Minnesotan and Californian share exactly the same attitudes and values despite pertaining to the same “society”.

Additionally, if one accepts the proposition that society at large determines one’s attitudes, than it would seem natural than one would be hard pressed to explain the striking political differences that exist between members of the same community. How can one reconcile the fact that two neighbours might have radically different views with respect to healthcare and gun ownership if their common societal attachment dictated their political dispositions?

Nevertheless many would argue that society’s role in shaping the individual takes precedence over that of one’s immediate surroundings as most are socialized through institutions that are in the hands of society as a whole. Typically children are required to pass 12 years at schools run by the local or state governments which have a profound effect on their understanding of morality and the world around them, as such, they consequently leave their print on children’s leanings. While this is undoubtedly true, one must remember that children pass their most formidable years with their parents prior to entering the formal education system. It is here, rather than in schools, that children learn to distinguish between wrong and right. While schools may teach pupils about the world, their sense of morality, and consequently their attitudes is taught at home.

Furthermore, one may reasonably argue that a defining feature of a society is that all its members share a common language. This is important inasmuch as a language is an important tool of socialization. Numerous studies have shown that languages shape the manner by which one perceives the world. Therefore through the use of a common language, society leaves its mark on the psyche of its members in a way one’s family or surrounding never could. This argument surely deserves merit, yet it fails to account for the wide arrange of patois and dialects which may exist within a single culture. The lexicon used by a child who grow up in a poor neighbourhood might be radically different that that used by a child growing up in an affluent neighbourhood. This might be extreme enough to prevent the two from understanding one another! Dialects may therefore serve to reinforce regional or socio-economic differences and thus prevent people from being socialized into the hegemonic culture.

It is hard to definitely know what shapes one’s attitudes. The wide differences in political leanings and cultures across a single country nonetheless evince that one’s immediate surroundings have a profound effect on one’s attitudes. This can largely be explained by the role language and early-child education have on one’s attitudes. As such, in order to better understand the individual one must first look to their immediate surroundings for clues.