Scientists and researchers should focus their attention on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest amount of people.

Should scientists focus on cancer research or rather on exploring the depths of the universe? For the layperson this question is hard to answer. However, it deals with a matter of significant social importance – what should be the purpose of scientific study. For those who believe the ultimate goal of science should be the betterment of society, it may seem natural to further suggest that scientist only focus their attention on those matters which can maximize social welfare. Nevertheless, both practical as well as theoretical considerations render such an argument counter-productive and potentially even deleterious to science and society at large.

Primarily, science is constantly plagued by a common concern, that the final application of any form of research is ultimately unknown. The first person to describe the unimaginable amount of energy released in nuclear fission could not have imagined that one day it would be used to unleash the world most destructive weapon. At the same time the same scientific discovery was used to build nuclear power plants which provided millions with inexpensive and environmental safe energy. It is thus hard to say whether ultimately such research has been beneficial or not.

Additionally, research often builds on previous research. While the discovery of DNA in the early 1950s was, on its own, neither harmful nor beneficial, further research that used previously discovered knowledge to identify and remedy birth defects has undoubtedly greatly benefitted humanity. Should we then say that researchers should never have focused on discovering the secrets of DNA?

Furthermore, by subjecting scientific research to cost-benefit analysis we may discourage scientists with potentially ground-breaking discoveries from participating in research in the first place. If we were to solely fund neurological research we may disincentive those interested in cardiology in performing research in the first place. While perhaps allowing us to cure patients of many neurological defects we may miss out on crucial knowledge which could have prevented many deaths from cardiac arrhythmia.

Nevertheless, a reasonable person may argue that the role of science is the betterment of society. Scientific funding should therefore be used solely as a tool to advance this goal. While this argument deserves merit it fails to account for the inherent inability to measure the betterment of society. For example, finding the cure to a certain disease might save 100 people in the present, however, funding research in a different field may contain a 10% of saving 10000! Who are we to say which research is more valuable to society at large?

Scientific progress has proven the most valuable tool at our disposal for improving the quality of lives of society at large. However, attempting to fine tune the flow of funds to maximize social welfare is undoubtedly prone to failure. As such, we must labour to allow science to flourish freely and allow scientists and researchers to focus their attention on their areas of interest.