The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducatio

The president of Grove College suggests changing from all-female education to coeducation to increase the admission and enrollment by admitting males to the school. However, the Director of the Alumnae opposes the plan since the all-female education has been the identity of the school. To decide the suggestion of the president, there are three questions to be answered.

First, the DA said the all-female education the very identity of the college. However, is it the only identity of the college? Perhaps, the college became popular due to its excellent curriculum and faculties or good facilities. There might be other identities that the college stands for. Therefore, the change from the all-female education might not affect the identity of the college much. Thus, it needs further information related to the characteristics of the college that affects its identity.

Second, the DA mentioned that in the survey of Grove alumnae, the majority of them strongly favored keeping the college all female. Nevertheless, it does not involve the opinions of other members of the college such as current students or faculty. When including the opinions of students and faculty, the result might favor the change to coeducation. Thus, the information regarding the response from all members of the college is needed to strengthen the argument.

Last, the president of the Grove college did not offer whether the plan will be feasible or not. It is possible that the plan is not feasible. For instance, there is not enough residence or classrooms which can cover the increased enrollment. If so, the increased number of students might diminish the general condition of the education offered to the students. It might damage the reputation of the college and the application for the school might decrease accordingly. Thus, it needs to be corroborated whether the plan is able to be practiced or not.

To sum up, to decide whether the college would abandon its all-female education, the three aforementioned questions need to be answered. If not, the plan will not beget the expected result.