The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. Due to this demand and the overall increase in clothing prices, we can predict that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the memo predicts that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before. To buttress his argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, they have new fabric supplier; second, consumer demands for their alpaca coats will increase; finally, overall increase in clothing prices is evident. While it might be true that continuing alpaca overcoats will increase profit in this company, the conclusion is not convincing due to several unanswered questions.

To begin with, the first question requires answer is that whether new fabric supplier can produce ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.