Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

this argument is based on the claim that investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will reduce the risk of being severly injured in an accident. this is based on a stastic that states that 75 percent of the people who go to the emergency room after a roller-skating accident had not been wearing any protective clothing or light-reflecting material. however, this argument makes many assumptions which weaken the argument as a whole.

First, the argument assumes that the people who went to the emergency room after roller-skating injuries were skating properly. The accidents could have been avoided if the skaters were following skating rules, such as where to skate and obeying laws of traffic. any violations to these skating rules could have been the reason the skaters were injured. however, the argument fails to address this issue, which makes it unsound.

Second, the argument assumes that the skaters who were injured did not take any abnormal risks. The accidents could have occured because of the risks taken by the skaters. readers do not know if the statistics were collected from a representative sample. The data could have been collected from a group of young males who tend to take risks greater than those of older women, but the argument does not address this issue. The argument assumes that the statistics sample the population accurately, which provides weakness to this argument.

Last, the argument assumes that protective equipment will solve the problem of sever roller-skating injuries. In actuality, the assumptions that the argument makes prior to this assumption creates a great deal of skepticism for readers. There are many external factors that were not addressed in this argument and that would alter the conclusion if they were considered. it weakens the argument to assume that the addition of protective gear would directly reduce the risk of being severely injured in an accident.

For all these reasons, the argument can be viewed as fundamentally unsound. The argument could be strengthened by addressing whether or not the skaters followed rules and laws effecting skating. it could be strengthened by identifying the risks taken by the skaters from which the data was collected. And the argument could be greatly stengthened by eliminating any external forces or addressing them in the argument. All of these adjustments would provide the agrument with a solid foundation.