Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument above is well-presented and appears to be relatively sound at first glance: because of the hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents, the roller skaters should investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment in order to reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident. However, as more light is shed on the issue and more detailed facts are concerned, it is easy to see that the argument suffers from several grave fallacies in its assumptions as well as commits a false analogy.

To begin with, as mentioned in the argument, there are two distinct kinds of gear—preventative gear, such as light reflecting material, and protective gear, such as helmets. preventative gear is intended to warn others, presumably for the most part motorists, of the presence of the roller skater. it works only if the “other” is a responsible and caring individual who will afford the skater the necessary space and attention. protective gear is intended to reduce the effect of any accident, whether it is caused by another, the skater or some force of nature. protective gear does little, if anything, to prevent accidents but is presumed to reduce the injuries that occur in an accident. The statistics on injuries suffered by skaters would be more interesting if the skaters were grouped into those wearing no gear at all, those wearing protective gear only, those wearing preventative gear only and those wearing both. These statistics could provide skaters with a clearer understanding of which kinds of gear are more beneficial.

In addition, the argument is much weakened by the fact that it does not take into account the inherent differences between skaters who wear gear and those who do not. it is at least likely that those who wear gear may be generally more responsible and/or safety conscious individuals. The skaters who wear gear may be less likely to cause accidents through careless or dangerous behavior. it may, in fact, be their natural caution and responsibility that keeps them out of the emergency room rather than the gear itself. also, the statistic above is based entirely on those who are skating in streets and parking lots which are relatively dangerous places to skate in the first place. people who are generally more safety conscious may choose to skate in safer areas such as parks or back yards.

Moreover, the statistic also can not make sense when come to the conclusion that safety gear prevents severe injuries. The conclusion suggests that it is presumed that people come to the emergency room only with severe injuries. This is certainly not the case. also, given that skating is a recreational activity that may be primarily engaged in during evenings and weekends when doctors' offices are closed, skater with less severe injuries may be especially likely to come to the emergency room for treatment.

Last but not least, there is absolutely no evidence provided that high quality gear is any more beneficial than other kinds of gear. For example, a simple white t-shirt may be easily catched by others' sight that provide the same or even more preventative benefit as a higher quality, more expensive, shirt designed only for skating. before skaters are encouraged to invest heavily in gear, a more complete understanding of the benefit provided by individual pieces of gear would be helpful.

Overall, the argument is far from forceful enough to persuade the roller skaters should invest in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment in order to reduce their risk. before any final decisions are made about whether the roller skaters should invest in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, much work is left for the arguer to do to make his/her argument more logical and cogent.