Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author points out that declining population in deer is the result of being unable to follow age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea. To buttresses his/her argument, the author cites the following evidence: first, Arctic deer need to limit their habitats to both warm and cold areas by migration; second, the reports local hunters and recent global warming trends show that the deer populations are decreasing. Tough the issue pointed have its merit, because of lack of relevant evidence and unaddressed assumptions, the author's argument is unsubstantiated incomplete.

To begin with, the creditability of the reports by local hunters is questionable. It is plausible the hunters count the number of deer in the region where they stay inactive or they scare away many deer with their guns. The sample size, in addition, matters a lot. If the reports are based on lots of hunters, then they might give some idea of the current deer population. If, on the other hand, they are relied on only a few hunters, then the reliability is doubtful. The population of deer calculated this way is unwarranted. Without the evidence with respect to the credibility of hunter's report, we are unable to fully evaluate the causal effect.

In addition, the author fails to provide the evidence of specialized climate change in Arctic. Recent global warming trend does not necessarily indicate that in Arctic. We are also not given the exact number of change in temperature. Even though the temperature of Arctic does increase, it might still be below the melting point of ice. Is the temperature impact strong enough to deter migration of deer? Food in warm area might be enough to support deer, thereby no migration to cold area is necessary. Deer probably adapt themselves to the new weather condition because of strong sustaining skill. To fully evaluate the memo, specific number of temperature change and adaptability to environment should be considered.

Last but not least, the author mistakenly ascribes the shrinking deer population in Arctic to their inability to follow their traditional migration patterns crossing the frozen sea. He/she fails to consider many other factors leading to its dwindling. Say, for example, that deer cannot obtain enough food, for which plants that used to feed on are extinct. Deer suffered from hunger owing to lack of enough food for survival. Alternative explanations such as deforestation and overhunting cause the similar impact. Inconclusive explanations for the declining trend in deer makes the author's argument problematic.

To sum up, as it stands, the author's conclusion is based on several invalid assumptions which undermines its reliability. To further strengthen his/her argument, the author is suggested to include the evidences as follows: first, the evidence of dwindling deer must be gathered by methodical and scientific investigation carried out by professional experts; second, global warming also applies in Arctic; finally, the impact of migration patter is the only impact on variation in population of deer, after excluding all other possibilities.