"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

The vice president of a large, highly diversified company argues that we should use Alpha instead of Zeta for our contemplated new building project. To buttress his/her argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, the building constructed by Zeta costs 30 percent more to build with identical floor plans ten years ago; second, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of Alpha building every year; finally, Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover. Though the issue has its own merit, due to lack of persuasive evidences and unstated assumptions, the conclusion in the memo is unsubstantiated.

To begin with, the assumption that cost of building a new project in cheaper using Alpha is invalid. The fact that building cost of Alpha is 30 percent lower is ten years ago might not indicate the current condition. If Alpha increases its price much more significantly than Zeta does, then it is possible than new building project with Zeta becomes less expensive today. In addition, the two buildings ten years ago were erected in two different regions, and the author fails to provide detailed information about these two regions. It is possible that Zeta's headquarter is located in big city whareas Alpha's is in rural village, then it is natural that Zeta will cost much than Zeta, since it has higher labor and material fee. After adjusting all the variances in these two areas, the price could be similar. We are also not informed about the quality of two headquaters. If Zeta's building is more solid, while Alpha's requires frequent repairs, then the previous cost plus repair fee in Alpha perhaps exceed that of Zeta's.

Moreover, the author assumes that energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of Alpha building every year. The assumption seems valid at first glance, but is problematic after further investigation. What are the employees, number of offices, square feets in those two companies? Where are the two headquarters located? What are the service or operation of them respectively? It is plausible that Alpha building has less workers in the company, so that it will consume more energy. Furthermore, if Zeta's building in located in areas where winter is frozen and summer is much hotter than Alpha's building, then it consumes requires heating during the cold weather and use air conditioner more frequently during the summer. Without detailed information about these two companies, we are unable to draw any convincing conclusions.

Last but not least, the stable workforce and employee turnover does not necessarily indicate the quality of every construction company. For example, Zeta is featured for its hyper-competitive company culture, so that employeers have to work diligently in order to remain in the companies. Those making relatively low profit and revenue will be fired. It is also likely that Zeta will hire sophisticated experts usually to improve its quality of the company. Thus, in this case, Zeta might be more reliable with better quality even if it has unstable workforce.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion in the memo is relied on several questionable assumptios and unanswered questions that curtail the credibility of the argument. To further strengthen the memo, the vice president of this company is recommended to provide the evidences as follows: first, whether the two building ten years ago is comparable in todays' condition; second, whether the cause of energy consumption is only related to constructed company; third, what does workforce stability and employee turnover imply in making a decision.