Argue 70.

The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

In this memo, the vice president claims that the company should hire Zeta rather than Alpha for their new building project even though Alpha's construction cost is lower than that of Zeta. To bolster his argument, the president refers to Zeta's lower maintenance expense and lower energy consumption. At first, the argument may seem convincing; however, the lack of solid evidence makes me question the validity.

First, the president needs to provide concrete evidence of the inherent condition of the buildings built by Zeta and Alpha to evaluate the construction costs and maintenance expenses. The author admits that the building established by Zeta costs 30% more than Alpha and rashly dismisses unforeseen disadvantages of Zeta. However, with this fact, it can be argued that Zeta should not be preferred over Alpha. After all, costing 30% more may be significant, and it may be actually burdensome. In addition, the author states that Zeta's maintenance expenses were lower than Alpha's last year. It may be possible that the low maintenance cost of the Zeta building was only prevalent only for just one year. If Zeta's better performance in saving maintenance costs is temporary, the company should not use Zeta.

Second, the president needs to supplement the argument with more solid evidence on the lower energy consumption of Zeta compared to Alpha. It is plausible that the building constructed by Zeta composes of a marginal number of workers, and the working hours of this building are significantly shorter than that of Alpha. In addition, the weather conditions of the two regions where Zeta and Alpha constructed buildings are different. For example, Alpha's building is located in a boiling area, which eventually requires air conditioning more frequently than Zeta. Furthermore, the energy consumption difference between the two buildings could be insignificant. In this case, the company should reconsider using Zeta for the new construction project.