The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

P#1

A vice president of a large, highly diversified compony thought that it would be better to choose the construction of zeta building rather than alpha building as zeta has lower cost in maintenance and energy consumption, plus it has a stable workforce. His thought might seem tenable, however, there are several questions needed to answer before we make the final conclusion.

P#2

Firstly, is the save of money in maintenance more than construction. In the material we can only know the percentage of the comparation in construction and maintenance fee. However, we don’t know the absolute number. So, if the construction fee are far more than maintenance fee, although the save on the percentage of maintenance fee is higher than construction fee, the comparation of total numbers would be the opposite. So the total number but not the percentage of the construction and maintenance fee is needed to know.

P#3

What’s more, is the advantage of zeta stable? From the material we can only know that zeta had less maintenance fee than alpha last year. However, we cannot conclude that this advantage would always exists only by data of one year. If this scenario occurred only by accident, then the advantage of zeta would vanish and alpha would be an apparently better choice.

P#4

Also, does alpha have a stable workforce too? In the material we can only see that zeta has a stable workforce but we do not know any information of the workforce situation of alpha. If alpha has a stable workforce too, then the advantage of zeta would be weakened.

P#5

Last but not least, will the buildings have the same life span in different region? We know that zeta and alpha have identical floor plan, however, it is also mentioned that zeta and alpha are in different regions, thus natural elements such as climate and so on may be totally different. If the environment where zeta lies in is worse thus zeta’s life span would obviously less than alpha, then although zeta has less maintenance fee, it will go to its end of life earlier than alpha which means more construction fees will be needed and in this case the total cost of alpha may be lower, leading to the fact that alpha would be a better choice.

P#6

As we have discussed above, we can see that there are still many room of doubt and the advantage of zeta is not that reliable. So, if those questions above can be answered, the fact would be more clear and I am greatly convinced that the vice president could make a more wise choice.