The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

P#1

The director suggests the president to require all of his employees to take the Easy read course as the course can greatly improve the reading ability while its cost is low. It may seem tenable, however, there are several things that are need to be proved, which are as follows:

P#2

Firstly, he needs to prove that the graduate of the course definitely cannot read a 500-page report in only two hours before he took the class. If those graduates originally have strong reading ability, then we cannot measure the effect of the course. What is even worse is that there is possibility that those graduates could read more but due to their wrong way learnt in course they can only read 500 pages in 2 hours.

P#3

Secondly, he needs to prove that the promotion of the graduates is not by accident. There are two things need to be considered under this evidence. One is that the strong reading ability which was obtained in the course had a lot to do with the promotion of that graduate, if he got promotion because of his social skill, then it has no correlation to the course. Another one is that the promotion can be observed in a statistic view, not the only one.

P#4

What’s more, the director needs to prove that fast reading speed can help the workers absorb more information than they used to be. It is common that we usually make mistake when we do things too fast, so there will be huge probability that although the workers read faster, the information they require are less than before as they focus on speed too much.

P#5

Also, it is essential to be proved that the benefit of the course values more than $500 per people while none statistic has been shown in the material. Even we assume that the course will indeed strengthen the reading ability of the employees, but the change is too tiny that makes it an unworthy deal. For example, the employee can already read 450-pages in 2 hours before taking the course, then there is no need to take the course.

P#6

Lastly, he needs to prove that the totally expense of all employees taking this course is affordable. In the material he only states that the cost per person, but let us consider this problem in a more macro view, if there are tremendous amount of employees in the company, then the cost would be countless and thus not affordable. So, it is vital to prove that the totally cost is acceptable.