In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

P#1

In our conventional thought, most people believe that the expert is more likely to make important contributions than beginners. However, with the rapid growth of a variety kinds of fields of inquiry, we found that more and more beginners began to surpass those ‘old men’, which leads to a heat discussion in society. From my perspective, I hold the view that nowadays beginners indeed are more likely to make important contributions than expert, arguments are as follow:

P#2

Firstly, the beginners are more open and easier to accept new idea than expert. In any field of inquiry, the born of fresh idea with the use of modern technology always happens. For those who are expert, they have explored this field in traditional ways for such a long time that they can hardly adapt a totally new way to continue his research. But for beginners, they would accept the new style naturally thus keep up with the step of the development of inquiry. An typical example is that my teacher of real analysis is an old professor who is about 70 years old, he is an expert in analysis but he cannot use modern technology very well. He doesn’t like using computer thus always do calculation by hands. However, nowadays we can use all sorts of tools like MATLAB or PYTHON to get the solution, which saves our time and make the calculation more accurate, making it possible to do research further in those area where enormous calculation are required and make great contribution.

P#3

What’s more, the beginners are also more innovative, as they are always younger and have less stereotype. A beginner is like a piece of blank paper, more blank space means more directions and more opportunities, while the expert has fixed their direction which is really hard to achieve more contributions. Nowadays most of fields have been explored thoroughly, but with the innovation of beginners, they can develop brandy new branches to conduct inquiry, giving them more probability to make important contributions.

P#4

Some people may argue that expert have more knowledge than beginners and is more familiar with their field as they have research on it a lot. However, the use of internet and so on technologies enables beginners to get access to professional knowledge easier thus they could be familiar with the field quickly as long as they want. But innovation cannot be trained so easily as it happens more often when we are exposes to the knowledge for the first time. So we can conclude that the beginners perform better than expert in making important contributions.

P#5

So, we should change the conventional thought that the expert is always more likely to make great contribution, and perhaps whatever the truth is, only believe in this can we beginners have more confidence and courage to explore the field which seems quite unfamiliar to us. I am greatly convinced that in the future more and more beginners will make great contributions, pushing the development of field of inquiry.