Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students

P#1

Education is no doubt prerequisite to success and it is the source of talents for society. As the internet technology is developing rapidly, the spread of education is becoming more and more convenient. So, some people suggest the government that college and university education should be free of charge to all students. But is it truly feasible and does good to the society? Considering those aspects, I hold the view that governments shouldn’t offer college and university education free of charge to all students, the reasons are as follows:

P#2

Firstly, the free of educational resource has few, if any, positive return. One thing is explicit that education needs to be conducted step by step, thus people should accept the education that equals to their levels, that’s why primary and middle schools are established. College education are designed for those who finish advanced placement course and eager to explore further in a specific major. It acquires systematic knowledge and mature brain, also tremendous amount of time. Therefore, college education doesn’t fit those who are not in the stage of college well. Whereas it does help those who are qualified but have financial or other difficulties to enter college, but maybe directly delivering financial support would be a better way as ‘suit the remedy to the case’ is the right solution.

P#3

While its benefit is tiny, it would raise the burden on government and school accompanied with wastage of resource. The free of educational resource will not come true unless complete platforms are set up and teachers have to adjust their plans of course, requiring enormous amount of money and energy. What is worse is the severe occupation and wastage of internet resources. Actually, extracurricular training institution could fulfill the demand of being educated in spare time, and government could provide financial support to those talents who are facing difficulties. So, the free of college and university education is useless and superfluous.

P#4

Apart from the squander of resource, another problem is misleading. The exposure to too much material would let students be misled. That is because students who are not in college cannot receive adequate and in time instruction from teachers, thus they wouldn’t learn as well as those who in college using the same material, or even worse, they would fall into a wrong path which go opposite from the original intention of free education.

P#5

In a word, the free of college and university courses is unnecessary and government should help those talents in need in a more direct and aptly way which averts the wastage and negative effect. The idea of the issue is ideal but we should solve the problem due to reality, thus governments shouldn’t offer college and university education free of charge to all students.