All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

P#1

College is the most vital period of a person’s life. To achieve better effect of education in college, some people argue that all college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country. From my perspective, considering the effect on the growth of knowledge, the exercise on way of thinking and the people we will meet in foreign country, I hold the position it is of great necessity that all college and university students should go abroad for at least on semester, detail reasons are as follows:

P#2

First, by studying abroad we can gain different but useful knowledge in our major fields. The development of subject may be differed from each other and this lead to a fact that different country have different areas they are good at. For example, in China, most mathematic researches are conducted in analysis and algebra are not that strong as America is, however algebra may be very important in all sorts of fields, the concept of symmetric group and communicative ring may help simplify the problem needed to be solved. So, if we could let students go abroad and gain some fresh idea in algebra, it will help them a lot in their mathematic researches.

P#3

Secondly, what is more important than knowledge is that we can learn a new way of thinking, which gives us a powerful tool to deal with things. The way of thinking may be totally different in different country due to the cultural bias. Therefore, when we study abroad and live there, we are jump out of the environment where we have lived since we bore, thus we will view things in a fresh view which may inspire ourselves a lot. Take my self as an example, when I go to America as an exchange student for a month, I learnt a lot about the thinking style that experiment is more essential than theorem, which is not what I received in high school, and this benefit me greatly in my learning of physics.

P#4

Last but not least, in foreign country we will meet many friends which would push us forward. College or university are definitely not the end of a person’s life, we will have our own career after graduation. When we go abroad, we can get in touch with many elites who are experts in their country, or excel people who are in the same country and go abroad in the same purpose. Whether we will work abroad or not, they will be our friends in future career and may provide us with opportunities which are hard to get if we don’t know them, this would also bring enormous profit to our future life.

P#5

As we have discussed above, we can see that there are several advantages of going abroad for a period in college or university. I think we should have the courage to see the world when we are young and I am greatly convinced that it will benefit us a lot.