Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

P#1

Education is vital in a person’s life, we all reach a consensus that if you want to live in a high-quality life, then you have to receive well education. However, there are different attitude in education on its effect on the spiritual world of people. Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit while the others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free. From my perspective, I hold the view that education tends to set our minds free rather than restrict them, reasons are as follows:

P#2

First, education enables us be access to more knowledge which may help us broaden the horizon and view the phenomenon occurred in life more thoroughly. For example, by learning economy we would have a better view of the market and we would understand why the price of currency change in the way we see in internet and thus we would think more when we read the economy news, leading to more freedom in our mind. Also, if we are exposed to some politics, then we will understand why a country made that choice under that circumstance, thus we would view the political world in a higher angle of view, which is definitely set our minds free.

P#3

What’s more, education exercises our way of thinking which gives us the tool to view the world. A typical example is that students in major mathematic are considered to have better comprehensive and self-learning ability than other students. That’s because the process of learning math requires lots of comprehension and self-learning. Students need to thoroughly understand those severe abstract concept and theorem in textbook and be able to use them in other scenario, thus they think a lot and always do self-learning, giving them a powerful mind. So, we can conclude that education indeed set our minds free.

P#4

Lastly, through the process of education we would be attached to lots of people and get touched with many things that we haven’t met before, which gives us a broader view to the world and stimulate us to think more. Take myself as an example, after I enter the university I met many friends who are really excel and when I communicate with them I always receive many fresh idea, and their curiosity stimulates me to explore the fantastic field I am interested in. I would learn their way of dealing with things around them and my personal level is rising without awareness. So, the process of education will help set our minds free too.

P#5

In a word, in education we will gain more knowledge, exercise our brain and be stimulate by people and things we ran into, leading to a more open view of world and more flexible way of thinking. Therefore, I am greatly convinced that education tends to set our minds free but absolutely not restrict them.