The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

P#1

Five years ago, company Sartorian stopped the production of alpaca overcoat due to the lack of high quality woo fabric. Now the new vice president believes that the production could be recover and there are huge potential profit because the demand of customer are high as alpaca overcoat is rare now. Also, the development of the economy make the price of alpaca coat higher, leading to feasible huge profit. However, from my prospective, some further evidences would weaken or strengthen this argument, which are as follows:

P#2

First, the evidence that the alpaca overcoat is still in fashion is needed. The high demand of customer may not be true if we only know that the production of alpaca overcoat has been stopped for years. If it is out fashion, then it would be meaningless to recover the production as no one would buy things that are out fashion. Fashion is the basic of high demand thus the evidence that alpaca overcoat is still in fashion is of great vital.

P#3

Also, the evident that the cost rise slower than the price of alpaca overcoat is needed. If we want to gain huge positive profit, then we need to make sure that the cost grows slower than the price. If so, then the profit which equals to price minus cost would be positive big. However, in the material we can only be sure that the price is higher, however, if the cost of cloth rise more than price, then the profit of alpaca overcoat is decreasing which is what we don’t want to see.

P#4

What’s more, in investment we shouldn’t judge a deal only by its profit, so the evidence that the variance of the price of overcoat should also be provided. If the variance is too high, then although the expected return of this deal could be high, but its sharp ration which equals to expected return divided standard deviation would be high too, making this a gamble. So we need to know that if the need of the overcoat is stable thus its variance could be low, only in this case can the deal be good.

P#5

If the evidence we have discussed follow could be considered, I am greatly convinced that the argument could be more persuasive and the vice president could consider the deal more thoroughly.