Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is, in fact, the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great country is, in fact, the general welfare of all its people.

In today's society, one should consider various aspects to determine whether a nation is great. One may understandably argue that the general welfare of all its people is the surest indicator of a great nation. However, the accomplishments of its rulers, artists, or scientists are crucial for a great nation.

Admittedly, the general welfare of citizens is a significant factor in a great nation. It is because a government should provide high-quality social welfare to benefit their people, consequently making the nation superior to others. Taking Sweden as an example, Sweden is known as one of the best countries possessing excellent social welfare programs. Sweden provides its people equal and comprehensive access to education and health care programs, including maternity. Old-age pensions and homeless shelters are readily available. Because Sweden allocates a large share of its budget to the social welfare section, many people reap benefits from the various social welfare programs, contributing to Sweden becoming a great nation. Thus, the general welfare of people can be the indicator of a good nation.

However, one should look at the achievements of rulers to state whether a nation is more remarkable than others. This is because the accomplishments of rulers can lead to significant advancement of a nation. For example, Abraham Lincoln, a former president and eminent pioneer of the United States, took the extra mile to make the United States a great nation. He installed the Emancipation Proclamation to free slavery across the country when slavery was a prevalent notion in the nation. Therefore, he eliminated discrimination and guaranteed human rights and constitutional justice in the government and society. His political achievements ensured prosperous lives for his people, and the United States became a great nation. Consequently, the astonishing feat of famous leaders can contribute to the country being heralded as outstanding.

Moreover, a triumph of artists is responsible for one nation being great because artists improve a nation's cultural and societal values. As an example, Dorothea Lange took candid photos of people living during the Great Depression, in which many people suffered from poverty. Through the support of the New Deal program, she could travel farther to country sides and capture the hardships that people were facing. Her photographs and artwork vividly depicted the realities of the economic decline, so volunteers were sent to help those people. As illustrated, her art pieces fostered the good lives of most US citizens. In addition, her artistic achievements have helped the US to portray its historical background and to be a preeminent cultural icon in society. Hence, artistic success is also essential for a nation to become great.

In summary, the accomplishments of leaders, especially rulers and artists, indicate a great nation. Individuals should constantly and painstakingly make accomplishments in their fields to devote their countries to being considered great.