The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The recent decades have witnessed the rapid growth in convenience and material life of the society. some, along with the speaker of the argument, indicated that the luxuries and conveniences of comtemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals. although convencience caused by technology advancement contributes to saving time and piltering useful information more readily, I agree that it deprives the independence and robustness of individuals.

As a threshold of fact, we have to admit that science development does plays an essential role in offering convenience, thereby engendering more time for innovative researches. Consider a scientists interested in studying artificial intelligence. In the past, without widespread internet, in order to refer to related materials and prominent published papers, people had to go to the library and looked through certain books line by line. On the contrary, computer is essential for abstracting significant and useful information to us in a second, so that scientists no longer would be encumbered by the preparation which wastes lots of time. In addition, internet provides platform for people to cooperate more efficiently worldwide, which smoothes the communication and beneficial for idea exchange. computer also assists in tedious but intricate computations and data analysis, granting researcher correct and clean results. therefore, people only need to focus on the novel part of the research, integrating all resources and algorithm to speed up the operation of artificial intelligence. By searching for knowledge about linguistics, it can also be improved a lot. although computer and internet provide convenience to people, it is human beings that advance the knowldge in certain fields by creative and critical thinking. they are only limited to some rountine and repetitve work.therefore, due to conveniences of life, innovative thoughts and products can be produced in an increasing speed and people are stronger than before.

However, we have to realize that not all parts of luxuries and conveniences of life empower us. some can even lead us to become impassive people repeting boring work, just like machines, as well as impassioned followers of trendy without personal thoughts.

With the improvement in material life, more and more people start to focus on life quality and buy things even out of their budget. Fashion is indispensable part in the society. people like to simply follow the trend without consideration. they might regard this action as a statue of living in the society and express their pride. celebrities are commonly used model in business strategies. business companies would choose the most popular celebrities and repete their advertisements in all kinds of social medias, such as instagram, facebook and so on. people simply follow what celebrities wear, even if they do not really like it. individuals have no sense of appreciation and no personal ideas about the beauty. what they do is to follow the most popular strictly. Thus, people's sense of appreciated depend largly on others' behavior and they could no longer make independent judgment. Moreover, individuals pay more attention to the physical so-called beauty, instead of stressing on inner value. The whole society might be likely to suffer from monotones value.

Another example to illustrate the declining independence and strengths in the case in as line worker. With development in technology, manufacturing companies implement the most precise machines that are more effective in producing than people. therefore, workers no longer need to adjust their work and think of the potential improvement in each step. they, instead repete same work every day, only regulating and recoring the data produced by the machines. following this way, workers are unlikely to have new ideas to enhance the products or give suggestions to the company in general. Observing how and what machines work, workers lose their own thinking or even lose the ability to make judgement independently.

In conclusion, with the bulk evidence, I do concede that sometimes the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life is important to our research and development in most areas. On the other hand, we also need to be cautious about the unintended and negative impacts brought by such trend, such as avoiding people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.