Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The author argues that Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. To support his/her claim, the author cites the following evidences: first, archaeologists discovered such Palean basket in Lithos; second, there is a very deep and broad river that can be crossed only by boat; third, no Palean boats have been found. Tough the issue has its merit, due to unpersuasive evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated and flawed.

To begin with, the author unfairly assumes that all the conditions about two villages are unchanged over years. That the current Brim River is very deep and broad does not necessarily mean it was very deep and wide in the ancient. Say, for example, the river used to be very shallow, then it is obvious that we are not able to find the boats around. There could be even no river in the ancient at all. The Brim River was built in the recent years. Citizens in these two villages could easily move to another village by walking. In addition, the baskets could be transposed by current people from Palea to Lithos, instead of ancient people. The argument made by the author is questionable when there was dramatic change happening from past to present, especially the condition about the Brim River.

Moreover, lacking of evidence of Palean boats does not mean there is no evidence about boat. Probably the boats were belonged to people in Lithos, and they used boats to get Woven baskets. Archaeologists today may not be obtained with sophisticated tools or ways to detect the ancient. It is promising, nonetheless, to gather more hints and evidences about the Palean boats as the result of technology advancement. The Palean boats might be made of disposable materials like wood in the ancient. They disposed through a series of processes with the assistance of rain, wind, and bacteria activities. The boats, in this case, are not likely to be found today even if there was a bridge in the past.

Last but not least, the author assumes that boat is the only method to cross the river. In other words, he/she fails to consider many other approaches to cross the river. If ancient people living around the river were all good at swimming, then Woven basket can be transported by people who swam. Another possibility is that there was a bridge on the river, but as time passes, the bridge was broken and then no longer exists today. Palean baskets, therefore, can be readily transported to Lithos from Palea in the ancient. Without the detailed information about ancient Palea and Lithos, we are not equipped with the ability to draw any conclusion about the origin of Woven basket.

To sum up, as it stands, the author makes conclusion based on several questionable assumptions which undermines its validity. To further strengthen his argument, the author has to provide evidences as follows: first, there was also a deep and wide river across two villages; second, no boats could be found after excluding all other possibilities by precise investigation; third, the only way to approach Litho from Palea is by boating.