The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The vice president of a large, highly diversified company argues that we should use Alpha instead of Zeta for our contemplated new building project. To buttress his/her argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, the building constructed by Zeta costs 30 percent more to build with identical floor plans ten years ago; second, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of Alpha building every year; finally, Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover. Though the issue has its own merit, due to lack of persuasive evidences and unstated assumptions, the conclusion in the memo is unsubstantiated.

To begin with, the fact that building cost of Alpha is 30 percent lower is ten years ago might not indicate the current condition. To fully evaluate the argument, we should be informed about the most recent price and price change of these two companies. In addition, the author only provides the maintenance fee of last year, which is limited to observe the pattern. If Zeta has higher expense in maintenance in most years except last years, we perhaps can assume that that outlier is not representative of the general trend of maintenance expenditure. Without answering current and expected maintenance fee, we cannot make strong comparison. The difference in price ten year ago could probably be explained by many external factors, such as location, labor and material cost. For example, Zeta is located in rural village whereas Alpha is in central business district. In this case, 30 percent more in building might be reasonable. After adjusting for variance, the cost of Zeta might even be lower than that of Alpha. Given Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs, the director neglect it readily without justifying grounded reasons. Thus, we doubt whether the decision is prudent.

Moreover, the author assumes that energy consumption of the Alpha building has been higher than that of Zeta building every year. The assumption seems valid at first glance, but is problematic after further investigation. What are the employees and number of offices in those two companies? Where are the two headquarters located? It is plausible that Alpha building has more workers in the company, so that it will consume more energy. Furthermore, if Alpha's building in located in areas where winter is frozen and summer is much hotter than Zeta's building, then it requires heating during the cold weather and use air conditioner more frequently during the summer. Without detailed information about these two companies, we are unable to draw any convincing conclusions.

Last but not least, the stable workforce and employee turnover does not necessarily indicate the quality of every construction company. For example, Alpha is featured for its hyper-competitive company culture, so that employees have to work diligently in order to remain in the companies. Those who make relatively low profit and revenue will be fired. It is also likely that Alpha will hire sophisticated experts usually to improve its quality of the company. Thus, in this case, Zeta might be more reliable with better quality even if it has unstable workforce.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion in the memo is relied on several questionable assumptions and unanswered questions that curtail the credibility of the argument. To further strengthen the memo, the vice president of this company is recommended to provide the evidences as follows: first, comparison from all respects of these two headquarters and the current maintenance fees; second, whether the only cause of energy consumption is constructed company; third, the importance of workforce stability and employee turnover imply in making a decision.