The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo the Vice President of the company recommends using zeta rather than alpha construction company for new building project based on the fact that earlier building constructed by zeta construction company has lower maintenance cost compared to the building constructed by alpha construction company, zeta constructed building has lower energy consumption and zeta construction company has stable workforce with little employee turnover. Following XXX questions need to be answered before the recommendation can be accepted and the new building project can be given to zeta construction company.

Firstly, it is important to know the number of employees occupying the buildings constructed by both zeta and alpha construction company. In case the number of employees occupying the building constructed by zeta construction company is way less than the number of employees occupying the building constructed by alpha construction company than one can figure out why the maintenance cost is low for the building constructed by zeta construction company. Also, it is important to know how many employees will be using the new building planned to be developed. In case the number of employees planned to use the new building is comparable or more than the number of employees currently using alpha constructed building than the new building might also have similar maintenance cost as alpha constructed building. If this scenario is proven to be true than the recommendation will not retrieve the expected result.

Secondly, it is important to know the location of the new building and the location of the previously constructed building by zeta and alpha construction company. It may be possible that the current zeta construction company constructed building is located at a place where the sun light is in abundance and hits the building directly during the day hours and hence not requiring the need for artificial lights to be turned on during the day. While the alpha company constructed building is located at a place where there is no direct sunlight and use of artificial lights is required during the day. Similarly, the new planned building might be in a location where the sun light is sparse and for whatever duration it comes it does not come directly to the building. If the above proves to be true then new building would require to use artificial lights during the day and hence energy consumption for the new building would be more than the existing zeta company constructed building and this would result in unanticipated outcome of the recommendation.

To conclude, the recommendation as it stands is seriously flawed and relies on unwarranted and unexplained assumptions. It is important to get answers to the questions above before the recommendation can be considered.