The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In letter to editor of a national aeronautics magazine it is recommended that all resources should be invested in unmanned space flight as these unmanned space flights and satellites are able to gather great deal of useful information and these unmanned space flights negate the costs and risks associated with manned space flights. Before this recommendation can be accepted it is important to address three questions

First of all, it must be confirmed whether the information gathered by unmanned flight and satellites is same or equally good as compared to information captured by manned mission. what if in the manned mission the astronauts are conducting a physical soil or surface test and the unmanned flights are only capturing images of the surface. In this case the two missions are completely different and outcome and success of the mission are different. One cannot replace the other. In case this scenario holds good then the argument does not hold good and spending all resources on unmanned space flight will provide desired results.

Secondly, the opinion is based on the assumption that recent success of unmanned flights will translate in future and same success would continue in future. what if in future the properties of space change and require a human application to gather information. In such a scenario the unmanned flights will not be useful to capture information and the argument will not hold water.

Furthermore, this is assumed that unmanned flight costs and risks will continue to be low compared to manned flights. what if in future the cost of technology used to navigate the unmanned flight increases or what if in future it is found that the unmanned flights tend to loose contact and are unable to communicate after travelling a certain distance and are lost in space. if any of the above scenario is proven to be true then the argument will not hold good.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is flawed and is unconvincing. The argument is based on several unwarranted assumptions. More information is required in order to completely evaluate the argument and clarify the assumptions. Answers to above questions will also help in confirming the validity and applicability of the recommendation.