As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Knowledge acquisition is a continuous process and there is no end to it. The more we learn about the things around us the better understanding we achieve, but only to realize that there is a whole lot that we do not know and is yet to be learned. I agree with the prompt that as we learn more things become more complex and mysterious for the following reasons.

Firstly, as we start learning the things which were complex or incomprehensible earlier start to become pellucid, but once we have learnt about it we find that there are other things which we are not aware of or do not understand. To explain this better let us consider the example of a Mathematics concept related to geometry. When students study geometry in the beginning they learn about the different shapes, their names and properties. Once these basic concepts are mastered the complex theorems emerge such as Pythagorean theorem. So, the shapes which were earlier not understood are now comprehensible for the students but there are still theorems which are not comprehensible. Similarly once theorems get mastered there would be some other concept which will be mysterious. So, concepts initially complex tend to become understandable as learning augments but further topics pop up which remain involved.

Acquiring knowledge is a never ending process. This can be further proved by considering the example of a ENT medical practitioner who first completes MBBS to understand medicine and human body and then does specialization to become an expert of ear, nose and throat, but the learning does not stop. The medical practitioner need to keep himself/herself updated of recent cases, issues diagnosed by other experts of the field so that s/he can provide treatment to his/her patients if they suffer with similar problems. Also, the medical practitioner need to keep himself/herself updated of the latest medications and procedures used in the field of practice so that same can be used during patient treatment. In case the expert do not continue to learn and stop after completing the specialization then the treatment provided might not be effective. So, there will always be the need to learn and understand things which are found to be complex and mysterious until they are learnt and then there is always something more complex waiting inline.

The point which the prompt makes can also be confirmed and illustrated by considering the example of a software engineer. To start professional career in software engineering a person first studies about computer hardware, programming language, databases etc. and once the studies are completed starts to work in the industry where the skills learned during college is applied but as the individual grows in the career the need to learn further about new technologies and languages arises and one has to learn the new technology to grow further in the career. So, the knowledge acquired during the college is found to be rudimentary with the need to acquire more as one continues in the career path.

To conclude, as we continue to acquire knowledge, things which earlier were recondite become lucid but we discover that there are still a lot of things which elude our current understanding and require us to continue the learning process.