Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

this topic raises the controversial issue of whether salary of teachers should be based on students’ academic performance or not. Indisputably, students’ academic performance is a lot dependent on how the teacher is teaching a subject. Nevertheless, linking teachers’ pay with students’ academic performance is an over stretch and not fair for the teachers. Thus, I generally disagree with the claim that teachers’ compensation should be driven by the academic performance of the students’ who the teacher teaches and would argue that teachers’ salary should be independent of the academic performance of their students.

First of all, salary of the teacher should be linked to the credentials that the teacher and the value the teacher brings to the educational institute. I would like to point out that the it is the educational qualification, teaching experience and research done in the subject that should be the factors which should drive a teacher’s salary. To illustrate, let us look at the example of an engineering institute where teachers of different level of qualification and specialization teach to the students pursuing engineering degree. there are junior professors who generally hold a bachelor’s degree in engineering and are paid the lowest salary amongst other professors. then there are professors who hold a master’s degree in engineering and are paid the median salary and then comes the department heads who are mostly PHD holders and are paid the highest salary in the institute. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that the higher the level of education a teacher has the better the pay scale.

Furthermore, if salary of teacher is dependent on students’ academic performance then if the students to not work hard enough during the exams and end up with poor results then not only the student but also the teacher will suffer the repercussion. Irrespective of how much effort the teacher has put on teaching the lessons it will finally come down to the results to determine if the teacher will be paid commensurate or not. Specifically, the academic performance of students can also depend on external factors such as health of the student, household situation. Consider a scenario where a teacher has done his best and have imparted the knowledge to students of the class and students have also worked hard throughout the year and studied diligently but during the examination time there was an outbreak of a disease due to which most of the students are sick and are unable to do well during the final examination as a result of this the teacher’s salary is impacted. Common sense tells us that salary of a teacher should be independent of the academic performance of the students.

One may argue that if there is no dependency on the students’ academic performance on teachers’ salaries then teachers would not put any effort to help improve performance of a student weak in studies. this argument does not hold water as most of the institute follow a practice of arranging extra supporting courses which are extension of the regular courses primarily focused on helping the students who are weak in studies.

In conclusion, although academic performance of students hinges on the teacher and the way the teacher imparts knowledge but that has nothing to do with the salary of the teacher. The salary is driven based on the educational qualification, teaching experience, number of subjects taught and other factors and hence teachers’ salaries must be independent of academic performance of the students.