Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

As it is the case in many states, teachers' salaries are based on student's academic performance. The string of logic behind this mechanism is that teachers will be more motivated to teach better in order to improve their students' grade. The causation relationship, however, is not a necessarily. I disagree with the statement that teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance for two major reasons: grades are not the best measure of a student's performance and cannot serve as a good measure for a teacher's performance; over-emphasis on grades actually produce the counter effect of lowering education quality.

Our current education system has many flaws. Standardized tests are one of them. If you ask educators how well do these tests measure a student's true ability. Most of them, out of concern for their profession, will refuse to answer the question. Those daring enough would say tests are terrible measures. Standard tests are a compromise between measuring a student's full range of potentials and comparing them to other students. Anyone who has been through the system could attest to it. In fact, there are many who obtained enormous success in their field, having failed many standardized tests.

Thus it follows that if teachers' compensation (which is already low enough to dissuade talented young people to enter the profession) is dependent on academic performance of their student -- reads test scores in plain English -- this feedback mechanism fail to measure its intended targets. If anything, standardized tests measure how good a student can crank in a semester worth of material in one night and how good they can answer to questions of the similar pattern. And the consequences could be severe, especially so for the students who expect quality education from school and the teachers.

If such policy is adopted everywhere, we will surely see a unification of curricula across the country. Teachers will simply ask students to recite test materials and class content will consists of them doing again and again similar test questions. Such repetitive work, while beneficial for a student's performance in standardized tests, proves to be baleful to the developing young mind.

Along the same line, teachers who used to innovate in their teaching method will cease to do so in response to the policy. Innovative teaching is hard, likely is its effect on the students. When compensation is not directly linked to test performance, teachers will have the leisure and the courage to be creative in their teaching methods. And it is exactly such creativity on the side of teachers that proves to be most conducive to student's intellectual development. There are numerous educational psychology researches about unconventional teaching methods that serve to improve student's social and verbal abilities, which are prerequisites for competent individuals but not included in standardized testing materials. Once the policy is adopted, students will have to bid farewell to those interesting classes in school they actually liked and face instead the monotonous task of read, recite, and reproduce. The society will eventually get automatons who are no good for things other than recitation.

In conclusion, basing teacher's compensation on their students academic performance will prove to be a sub-optimal strategy. While it is likely purposed on the good intention to motivate teachers to do their jobs well, the current system of measuring academic performance is simply not perfect. If the suggestion is indeed adopted, we will likely witness a general decline in teaching quality as teachers forego any innovative attempt they had taken before and converge to tried-and-effective method of read, recite and reproduce. The result of it will be counter productive for both the students and the society as a whole.