The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As per the article written by dr. Karp, it is mentioned that dr. field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and the observation centered approach is invalid and that the interview centered method adopted by dr. karp’s team will establish more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in tertia and other island cultures. this conclusion is drawn based on the finding noted during the interviews conducted with the children living in the group of islands including tertia. It was noted that children spent more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. In order to evaluate the argument presented in this article it is important to answer below questions

Firstly, it is important to know how much time children of tertia spent talking about their parents and how much time did they spent talking about other adults of the village. It may well be the case that children of other islands spoke more about their parents compared to the time children of tertia spent talking about theirs and that the number of children of other islands is more compared to the number of children from tertia the overall time spent talking about parents was more. But, when only children of tertia are considered then we see the case is otherwise. In case this scenario holds good then it will weaken the point raised by dr. Karp in the article.

Secondly, it is not specified what was the age of the children when dr field made his observation and when dr. Karp conducted his interviews. what if the children were infants at the time dr field made his observations? And at that age the children were reared by the people of the village and that at the time of interview the children were teenagers and were with their parents. if this is true, then it explains why children are talking about parents more in the interview. Because these children will not have memory of the time when they were infant and would not know that they were reared by other adults. if this scenario comes good then the assertion made by dr Karp in his article that interview approach will establish better understanding will be weakened significantly.

Finally, the argument as it stands currently is severely flawed and dependent on unwarranted assumptions. answers to above questions are required in order to fully evaluate the argument and its accuracy. if dr karp can provide more details pertaining to how the interviews were conducted and when did dr field made the observation it will become easier to evaluate.