To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Today is the day of urbanization where majority population is migrating towards the metro cities in search of a better lifestyle. The metro cities of today in almost all countries provides the citizens of the city with all the amenities such as good housing, transport, education, health services, entertainment, outdoor parks etc. and hence these major cities are seeing a rapid influx of population. these cities generally have population which represents mostly the entire country in terms of social background and culture. hence these cities serve as a good source of information to someone who wants to study and understand characteristic of a society as a whole.

Consider the Mumbai metropolitan area of india which is home to over 20 million people. people from all parts of india come to Mumbai in search of a better life. There are communities within Mumbai which represents the traditions and culture of different state. To illustrate one can, find Gujarati, Tamil, Punjabi, Bengali, Rajasthani etc. communities in Mumbai. These communities are made up of the people who originate from these states and each of these communities conduct various events and functions to celebrate their individual festivals. A city such as Mumbai will serve as mecca of information for a scholar who is interested in studying the Indian society. The scholar will be exposed to people from all parts of the country coming from different backgrounds and cultures and all these people can be found in a single major city.

Another point for consideration is the fact that all major educational institutes such as major schools, colleges and universities are located in a major city of a country. In order to understand a society, it is important to talk to the academic experts of the society as these experts can provide an excellent insight to the society. A researcher studying a society can interview the academicians and collect all the necessary data required to understand the characteristics of the society. Also, the universities act as an excellent source of artifacts and documents on the society which can be very helpful for the individual studying the society.

One may argue that in a country as diverse as india only by studying major cities one cannot understand the society as a whole as there are various characteristics which are present in rural areas. In my opinion this argument can be compensated by the presence of artifacts which can be found in universities present in the major cities. Artifacts found in form of written books, white papers, art form etc. can provide enough information about the rural culture and traditions and hence helping cover the rural perspective as well.

In conclusion, major cities provide most of the necessary information which is required to understand characteristic of a society and therefore, studying major cities of a country can be leveraged to understand the society in general.