To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Throughout the world, study in society has never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although many people believe that major cities play a vital role in a society, the issue as to whether they may help researchers understand the most important characteristics of the society remains controversial. As far as I am concerned, to fully understand the characteristics of a society, people should learn about its major cities.

One cannot know about American without visiting New York or San Francisco: where people can see the numerous groups of citizens such as White, Black, Asian or Hispanic united or divided by ethnicity or religion. These are where you might hear hundreds of different languages, walking on the street. From the earliest days, America has been a nation of immigrants, starting with its original inhabitants, who crossed the land bridge connecting Asia and North America tens of thousands of years ago; then America experienced successive waves of immigration, particularly from Europe. At the present time, America is a melting pot due to its diversity, a notable city like New York is home to neighborhoods such as Little Italy, Chinatown, Spanish Harlem or Hell’s Kitchen, etc.

If you seek to understand the hierarchy of Indian’s society, you have to study New Delhi or Mumbai. Foreign visitors might see them as modern and wealthy cities, but they also have imbalance; although they are among the richest cities in the world, a huge amount of population live in slums, or areas of extreme poverty that often lack access to clean water, electricity, and public transportation. This disparity is prevalent due to the caste system; members of higher-ranking castes tend to be more prosperous than members of lower-ranking castes, who often endure poverty and social disadvantages especially Dalit, the lowest-ranking caste. In past decades, Dalit people had to display extreme deference to high status people and suffered from landlessness, unemployment and discriminatory practices. In recent years, it is illegal to openly advocate any caste’s superiority, lower-ranking caste citizens are still negatively affected by discrimination.

If you want to comprehend a conservative society with a Karoshi, overwork culture of Japan, you might need to go to Tokyo or Osaka. This intense culture is a product of Japan’s post World War II era, in an effort to rebuild the economy, the government enlisted major corporations to offer their employees lifelong job security, asking only that workers repay them with loyalty. The action worked and made Japan a second largest economy in the world due to the assiduousness of employees, they arrived early and left late, worked under pressured management and routinely did many hours of overtime. Despite the success of the nation, Japanese workers began committing suicide and suffering strokes or heart failure from the burden stress and sleep deprivation. Currently, even though the government has some policies to give people more time off but if foreigners come to big cities of Japan, they might see a huge number of Japanese rushing to their offices.

In conclusion, it is true that studying metropolises of a society leads to understand its most important characteristics. The living examples of America, India and Japan bear this out, their major cities illustrate their remarkable attributes.