To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

If one wants to know about the culture, language and other characteristic of society, then he/she must indulge into gleaning information about society. Visiting and spending your valuable time into society will help one to know more about the society, because one will get chance to interact with the people living in a particular area. So, to know about important characteristics of society then, he/she has gone through every minute details and which we think can never be covered by studying few important cities. Thus, we generally censure with the opinion that studying major cities will helping in understanding perspectives/characteristics of society.

Firstly, defining what is important and what is not important is difficult question, when someone wants to know about important characteristics of society. It depends on person to person; one might say important characteristics are modern development of society whereas other might say that most important characteristics would struggle of freedom fighters. So, it is impossible to say that studying major cities will give a comprehensive view of society. Consequently, it would great to say that one might get inkling information about society if one tries to study important cities.

Furthermore, I would any city consist of different terms like culture, language, their clothing and other things. There are many cities, which are small but their contribution to the society is huge. So, one must study small cities too because their contribution counts. Let’s take example of Africa, which is mostly famous for its tribal culture and deserts, which are not even a city, so in this case one will definitely miss important characteristic of Africa if he/she will not study about tribal and desert.

Admittedly, one will get in touch with the exposure of society if he/she studies major cities, like one can study about capital of any country, then he/she will get vague idea of historical background and modern development of society. In addition, if one studies the major cities then, he will surely get idea about how technically the society is strong and how it is progressing and competing with other nations. Therefore, the argument, studying major cities of any society results in complete understanding of important characteristics, doesn’t holds true as explained.

In conclusion, although study of major cities will give idea about the society, but it won’t be comprehensive. So, one must study about society irrespective of its cities whether it is major or minor, because then only one can understand most important characteristics of any society.