Claim: While boredom is often expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction, it should really be a source of embarrassment.

Reason: Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation.

Boredom triggers when an individual is either not actively involved in an ongoing activity or has nothing to do of his or her interest. boredom is a self-initiated state where an individual is not keen on being an active part of an ongoing event or not inclined to explore any other avenue. Essentially boredom is an outcome of being in an inactive or passive mode. I agree with the prompt that boredom should be a source of embarrassment and list below three key points why boredom should not be expressed with sense of satisfaction.

Firstly, there are so many things available around us to keep us engaged. if an individual is engaged with any kind of activity, then that individual cannot be bored. By engaging in an activity, I mean an activity of interest. To illustrate consider an example of a working professional living by himself in new York. From morning 8 until evening 5 the individual is at work. after 5 the individual returns to his apartment and is all by himself. if the individual says that he is bored after 5 as he has no company, then it is the individual to be blamed for the boredom. he can very well join a social club or a fitness club where he can go every evening after work. there he can meet several other people and interact and socialize and keep himself engaged. Or the individual can take up an avocation such as biking or painting etc. to keep himself busy after work.

Secondly, one might argue that an individual can be bored at workplace as well. The mundane job might bore the individual. this is where creativity and imagination come into play. if the individual is creative and imaginative then even a quotidian task can be made interesting. consider a person who is a data operator and his job is to fill datasheet. this job might turn boring over a period of time, but the individual can make it interesting may be by learning automation after work hours and use that learning on the job to automate the data entry process.

Furthermore, one can argue that an individual can get bored from an avocation over a period of time. I would yield to the argument and would agree that possibility exists but that doesn't mean anything new cannot be picked up to avoid boredom. if painting is someone's hobby and he/she is bored of it then may be some new hobby such as photography, reading, etc. can be explored and picked up to avoid boredom.

To conclude, boredom is self-initiated state where individual has given up and is not willing to explore new avenues to keep oneself engaged. if imagination and motivation is channelized appropriately then new options are always available to be explored and enjoyed.