"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The argument is based on the assumption that level of stimulation is driven by the order in which an individual is born I.e. first borns show higher level of stimulation as compared to those who are not the first. The examples given talk about first born humans and first time mother and how they show high level of cortisol and the writer of the letter link the reason for this higher level to the fact that they are the firsts. Before this argument can be fully evaluated answers to below 2 questions must be addressed.

Firstly, what if the infant monkey is producing more hormone cortisol due to a hormonal disorder which he has acquired during birth. if it is found that the infant suffer from hormonal disorder and as a result is producing more amount of hormone cortisol then the assumption of birth order has got nothing to do with the higher hormonal production and in turn increased activity levels and the argument will be flawed.

Secondly, in the example provided of a first time mother monkey what if it is determined that high level of cortisol is identified due to pregnancy and not due to the fact that it is it’s first pregnancy. Generally during pregnancy it is noted some disorder appear only during the pregnancy time and it goes off after that. Similarly, in case it is found that the higher level of cortisol is due to the pregnant monkey’s condition then the assumption linking the high level of cortisol to first time event will fail and the argument is weakened.

To conclude, the argument as it stands right now is severely flawed and must answer above asked questions and provide more study results to make the case strong. Until this is not done the argument cannot be fully evaluated and a strong case or conclusion cannot be drawn out of it.