The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general welfare of all its people. To an extent, I am in agreement with the statement but it’s not true in all the cases. we have many incidents from history where nations are respected because of the achievement of their artists, scientists, rulers.

First of all what defines a great nation, though we don’t have any generic definition but in general we call a nation great where people have proper medical facilities, good education system, better infrastructure and where fundamental rights of humans flourish like “Freedom of Speech”, “Freedom of expression” and “Equality social and economic”.

but we have many incidents from past where a discovery made my scientist made the nation great and who could be best example other than Mr Jonas salk. salk discovered the medicine of polio at a time when, it was an epidemic and many new born innocent babies were getting effected from this. polio affected not only the lives of people who were affected but also of the people attached to them. but discovery made by salk was so significant that now this disease is almost eradicated from many of the countries and for some of the countries various international health organizations are helping them to eradicate.

Another example we have in front is discovery of light, bulb or say electricity by an American scientist. it’s a kind of discovery which not only changed the life of people of one place, city or nation; it changed the life of people of whole world. because of this discovery our whole prospective got changed to see the world.

There are many discoveries like (Motor Vehicles, Flying Machines, Telephones, Television) which not only changed the lives of many people but also brought socio, economic changes across the globe. because of these discoveries so many jobs got created, infrastructure got developed and eventually life of people got changed. Same is the view for artists be it ravindra nath tagore, Picasso or Leonardo da vinci or modern day artist Michael Jackson. They became source of inspiration for millions of people across the globe.

In the end, I would say a nation becomes great not only where basic needs of a human being are catered but also where art, music, science also flourish to bring positive changes on lives of people