The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

General perception that a great nation lies in its ruler’s capability and their wealth, artists who produce mesmerizing arts, scientists who goes to an extent of inventing or discovering, by extension, other countries use these inventions there by generating revenue and fame to the nation. However, to be considered as a great nation these are some of the many ways but not the sole ways.

Firstly, the basic needs of a man are food, clothing and shelter. Even the world’s greatest nations are lacking in providing the food to the common man. According to World Health Organization report, almost 40% people are lacking basic nutrition value, the saddest part is children below 5 years constitute 80% of that. Malnutrition is one serious conundrum where the governments should concentrate more. In the early stages of infantry, more nutritional food should be supplied to the children like the mid-day meal in the schools to overcome the problem.

Secondly, the literacy rate should be improved to an extent where every person should have the basic education to meet the daily needs. A person when educated can make his family educated, there by generations of the family is educated. An illiterate person may not have the idea of how a system or government works. He can question the officials about any problem he faces in the society. Education also avoids superstitions and proper care will be taken by parents in the brought up of their child.

Thirdly, we have an early saying "Health is Wealth". a recent report by a famous newspaper tells that almost 80% of the people are suffering from any of the health issues. Only 20% people of the country are healthy. This is a serious concern which the government should address immediately. Proper health makes the person to live more and study well which then increases the literacy rate and when a person is educated well, he can choose a good career path and there by flourish in the field he likes.

Achievements in the fields of arts and science are also important indicator of the great nation. To achieve those the general well-being of common man inundates the status of great nation. History has given a prominent importance to the past ruler’s achievements, scientists inventions and the artist’s aesthetics and organization. But it misses out how a common man lived in those period and this makes the perception that these are the only means to measure a great nation. However, in the 21st century we have to change the perception and give importance to both achievements and well-being of common man.