The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

The vice president of a company who constructs the shopping malls released a notes, which concludes that they want Appian Roadways to build access roads for their malls. Though the evidences provided by the vice president are enough to accept the conclusion. But there are few questions which needs to be answered, if not, may undermine the conclusion.

Firstly, question is the comparison between a section of route 101, constructed by Good Intentions Roadways and a section of route 40, by Appian Roadways. Even though the section of route 101 is only 2 years old and has been damaged severely with potholes, may be it is because of the road is used by heavy vehicles which are used for construction. Area surrounding route 101 is developing area so a lot of construction works are going. Route 40 can be located in a residential are where only light vehicles such as mopeds, scooters or cars are moving on roads. The vice president should look at this question which without evidence provided about the usage of roads.

Secondly, climatic conditions also effect the condition of roads. If there are heavy rains and floods in a particular area, roads get damaged quickly even if they are constructed with high quality. Without considering the climatic conditions of both route 101 and 40, it leaves a heavy doubt to believe that appian roadways are better compared to Good Intentions Roadways. Good Intentions Roadways may also construct with high quality or even better quality than Appian Roadways.

Thirdly, without providing information about good intentions roadways purchases of machinery we cannot evaluate the argument of Appian roadways commitment in positive manner. Good Intention Roadways can be of less promulgating side, there by, no press release about their machinery purchases. In spite of state-of-the-art machinery some companies cannot produce quality work. This question seriously undermines the vice president's conclusion.

Lastly, appointment of new quality-control manager puts up a lot of questions. What happened to the previous manager? Roads laid by appian roadways 4 years back are in good condition which happened under the previous quality-control manager. New manager may not have good experience on road construction because his previous work experience may be of constructing buildings.

To sum up, there are many questions which are to be addressed by the vice president. Without answers to the question mentioned above, we cannot evaluate the predicted result as at least 4 years the roads will not get any repairs.