All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

As someone has rightly said it is best left at the experts to figure out how to run the business. In my opinion it is in best interest of company to bring onboard external consultants to help suggest the best ways to operate efficiently. I do not agree that only by listening to their employees a company can come up with a plan to operate efficiently and i argue base on the below two points.

Firstly, the external consultants which companies hire possess specialized skill and they excel in building up such charters and plans which they have executed successfully in the industry. consider the example of mercer a world renowned HR consultancy firm which outsource their consultants to many different companies of the world. these consultants are experts in building up a new organization hierarchy or restructuring an existing organization hierarchy. many companies of the world have utilized the special service provided by mercer consultants and have either built a brand new org hierarchy based on the guidelines and inputs provided by these consultants or have restructured their old org hierarchy to align with a new strategy. The companies have been benefitted immensely by following the inputs they have received from the consultants. such huge organization level changes cannot be implemented only by listening to existing employees.

Secondly, external consultants full time job is to think and come up with a plan which can be used by their client to run efficiently and it is not that the consultants are doing this work part time. this point is important to note as employees of the company are not essentially working full time to come up with a plan to operate efficiently. The employees of the company have their daily job function which might necessarily not be operation efficiency plan and hence the employee focus might lag which may result in not so thorough analysis of the scenarios which is currently impacting efficiency. example in a technology company seeking operation efficiency can have employees who are software developer whose daily job is to write code. If those software developers are to share inputs on how to operate efficiently they might not be able to cover all the aspects required to be successful. To elaborate further, the consultants are the experts whose sole purpose and day job is to device a plan which will bring operation efficiency and other employees of the company have other tasks to deal with and they might not essentially be equipped with right skills to device such an operational efficiency plan.

One might argue that the existing employees of the company are aware of work environment, understand what can work within the company and understand their organization receptiveness to the change and hence they are the right source of inputs for the company which targets to improve efficiency but as described in the above examples these pros that we initially find are overtaken by the benefits and skills an external consultant brings to the table. Eventhough external consultants come from an outside world they bring in a new perspective and hence are more beneficial than just considering the existing perspective.