In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Per age old saying discussion between people with opposing view triggers a change, a change for good. In my opinion, discussion with different people with different perspective help gain valuable information which is primary for growth in any aspect of life and I highly agree with the statement presented in the prompt for 2 main reasons.

Firstly, people differ from one another in area of skills and expertise. I.e. some have expertise in a field say engineering while other have expertise and experience in a different field say business. In an organization individual from various professional background work towards achieving a single goal i.e. making the organization better and in turn making an impact not only on the ones who are part of the organization but also who are outside of the organization. To illustrate, in technology industry it is a very common practice to brainstorm on design of a product and these brainstorming sessions are conducted between teams of software engineers, design engineers, program managers and business managers all these people from different background and expertise bring in plethora of thoughts and inputs which help cover every aspect of a product and hence resulting in a concrete design. Assume if such discussions happen only within team of software engineers then the design which is considered might well be thorough from technology standpoint, but it may lack some business scenarios.

Secondly, every individual has his or her own way of looking and understanding things around him or her and the way they perceive is different than the other individual. when such individuals are brought into a room for discussion various perspectives emerge for similar situation. With variety of perceptions one can make better sense of the situation and way to deal with it. consider the example of a parliament in any democratic country. The parliament is formed of candidates from multiple parties. parties which have different ideologies. candidates which get elected from their constituency come different parties with different agenda’s and ideologies and they discuss on multiple issues impacting the country in the parliament. any bill that needs to be passed as a law must pass via the parliament and when bills are introduced in the house there are debates and discussions that goes on. What comes out these debates and discussions is a thorough analysis of the bill being considered to be passed as a law which has been vetted by representatives from different constituencies and parties and during this process as different views are shared by individuals the bill is amended and reformed to ensure a concrete bill is passed which is beneficial to the country as a whole.

one may argue that discussion among people who have contrasting points of view will spark conflict and effort will be lost in conflict resolution, this downside can easily be weighed down by the positives of the result that we achieve out of discussion among people with contrasting view points and hence to make progress in any part of life it is important that discussions are done and all the view points are understood and covered