The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

This topic raises the controversial issue of evaluating greatness of a nation on basis of two vital factors which drive this greatness. In the above argument, the author wrongly considers that greatness is not a function of both well-being and achievements of its prominent people. I reckon that any nation which is good in both the factor could be taken as a great nation - although one of the factor may weigh more than the other. Indisputably, as author mentioned well-being of the people is most important and an indicator of greatness of a nation. Thus, I personally disagree with the author's faulty assumption that both factors are independent but would argue that both are prerequisites in evaluation.

First of all, I would like to point out that any autocratic nation could become great by their global achievements. To illustrate this let us consider the example of China. One of most prolific nations in field of AI, with its tyranny against Muslim community emerging as a great nation in the global view without concerning much about the well-being of the people. Similar countries like this are North Korea.

Similarly, a nations greatness could be an indicator of both well-being of people and its technological achievements. For example,we all know that United States is the most technological country. Nonetheless, the state implements proper measures in pursuing the well-being of the people with or without the use of this technology. In this circumstance it is obvious that any nation with similar factors would achieve greatness.

Admittedly, well-being of the people plays a major role than the achievements of individual personalities in that country.

Countries such as Sweden substantially has lower mortality rates and death rates than any other country in the world. In fact, Sweden has not got a single renowned artist or scientist in this contemporary world but it can be considered as a great nation solely on the basis of its concern and well-being of the people.

In conclusion, although well-being is a key indicator of greatness of a nation, it does not out weigh technological achievements in determining a nation's greatness. Finally, this very factor can also make a nation great and it also depends on a global view of all these factors.