TPO-34 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.Us

Nowadays children are born into a society that is intertwined with speed. Education comprises not only of schooling, graduation but also the betterment of society. Children have embraced the technology, but this has come at a price. They lack the maturity that required to take any society forward. In my view, children are lacking the societal experience as well as many other vital things due to the unintended consequences that technology has brought with its rise. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will elaborate on in the following paragraphs.

First of all, children of the 21st century have become very demanding that their counterparts of previous generations. Dawn of super fast electronic devices has been pivotal to this culture. Before the rise of technological boom, children used to pass the time by reading books. Reading books at a proper pace will increase one's understanding of the society and improves imagination. But unfortunately, in today's generation, children have been addicted to smart phones and no one wants to spend time reading the whole book. Children have been habituated in consulting online tools that enables them to read many books in a short span of time. Consequently, children glean more information with less knowledge. Although it is evident that this generation of children are born more smarter than those of previous generations, but these children are misusing this ability. My personal experience is an personal example of this. A friend of mine had given birth to a child 6 years ago. The child has been smarter than any of us, nonetheless, he has been stubborn in listening to people' instructions. He rather has been using internet to glean the information. The main drawback of this trend is their inability to convert information to wisdom.

Secondly, maturity level of children has been falling drastically every decade. With the deluge of smart phone, children of this generation have been allocating more time to smart phones than conversing with the people. Sadly, children right the childhood are becoming more polarized in their view of society because of the extreme culture endorsed by the applications. Though children are born smarter, nonetheless, they have been influenced a lot by an extremist view of today's smart phone culture. In reality, they are failing in accumulating a more mature perspective. In short, they are disabled to observe both sides of a coin.

In conclusion, schooling has become a lot easy for contemporary kids. With tools that work in collaboration with the internet, achieving good grades has become easier than ever. Although, there has been an increase in literacy, but the children have been failing in imbibing the quality of that education. If this trend continues, which is very likely, tomorrows future is in wrong hands that eventually becomes more extremist than ever.