Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The gaming industry is one of the revenue-generating industries, in today's world. With an exponential rise in technology, playing high graphic games is made possible. In reality, lots of people nowadays, have been making gaming their career paths. But the most common notion that has prevailed in almost every society is that playing computer games can inhibit one's abilities. However, in my view, games are some of the sources for improving our mental skills and also a form of stress buster, apart from providing entertainment. I will provide two reasons for support, which I will elaborate on in the following paragraphs.

First of all, playing games at least for a little time evidently increases your IQ. Research shows that children playing games of different types is seminal in scoring higher on IQ tests, in comparison with children not playing games. Every person exerts some mental strain in playing any game. This determination helps in strengthening the mental muscles. Some people even play games while commuting or for relaxation. Similarly, some arcade games relieve your stress instantly. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. During the first year of my under graduation, I used to dedicate much time playing chess. Although, it might seem like I had wasted a lot of time but playing chess had contributed to the development of my cognitive skills. Consequently, both my memory and strategy had supposedly increased which helped in achieving better grades in the coding course. Recently, many research papers have been submitted regarding the connection between playing chess and strategical development in the human brain.

Secondly, playing games can increase your social circle. Right from the dawn of the 21st century, there has been a steady increase in cases of people suffering from loneliness. However, online games have provided us with a way to confront this. Many unknown people can become friends online, playing together online, thereby enabling networking with strangers. Nevertheless, there have been cases where strangers actually become good friends. Distant friends could chat and talk with each other while still playing the same game. For example, the game PUBG has been a hyper hit in react times. The game's unique feature of containing four people for a game is outstanding. Friends could play together, talk and chat together along with the game.

In conclusion, though spending a lot of time playing games could result in dire health effects, still one should not misuse it as it alleviates many mental problems. However, parents should be careful and strict in stipulating a time period for playing computer games. Apart from chess, a myriad of mind-bending games is available which can improve one's mental abilities for goodness sake.